Hanoi Youth Football League Hanoi Youth Football League  

About Hanoi Youth Football League

“Ce que je sais de la morale, c'est au football que je le dois.” “All that I know of morality, I owe to football” Albert Camus 


HYFL exists to provide a fun and competitive environment where children in Hanoi can play football.

The league currently has about 400 children in 36 teams in 4 age groups, drawn from Vietnamese and international schools, charities and football clubs. There is a magic on and off the pitch on Sundays as round after round of matches is played, and the diversity exemplified by the children who play in HYFL is a core value of the league. Children from very different backgrounds play together, and the league is a prime example of how football brings people together.

The referees are officials from the Vietnam Football Association, and are excellent children’s refs: impartial and smiling.

The league is run by volunteers and the teams depend on adults who give their time to train and organise the teams, and parents and friends to support the teams when they play matches.


The League was set up in 2009 by a group of expatriates wanting to provide competitive football for children in Hanoi. Olivie Beek, Gary Mundy and Paul Schuttenbelt realised the dream and set up the League from scratch. Nguyễn Thị Linh Chi was the very able administrator from 2010 to 2014.


In the first season there were 18 teams competing for a full season in 3 age categories. By 2013-2014 there were nearly 400 players registered to play in the League, divided into 4 age categories and nearly 40 different teams. In 2013-14 the League ran its Fifth International Tournament. Over the years we have welcomed visiting teams to this two day event from Singapore, Thailand, China as well as other parts of Viet Nam.


Soon after the start of the HYFL several other expat and Vietnamese parents stepped in to help run the HYFL for one or more years, as members of the HYFL Committee, field coordinators and more.  This included Tim Aman, Matthew Frey, Anders Poulsen, Emma Lawrence, Nguyễn Thị Hồng Lý, Nguyễn Hoàng Lân, Nguyễn Thanh Huyen, Van Thi Thuy Ha, Johan Kieft, Danny Maresch, Caroline den Dulk, Koen den Braber, Tim Brennen, Jerome Boulo, David Cunningham, Job Runhaar, and Jeremie Cohen.


Current members of the Committee are Koos Neefjes, Nicole Roberton, Rebecca Gannon, Frantz Vaganay, Duong Phuc Toan, Nguyễn Nam Thai.


Nguyễn Lương Dũng is the coordinator, and Nguyễn Duy is and has been for some years one of the field coordinators at match days.



Print Print | Sitemap
© HYFL-ea